Guide Explore
Kocain Cave,Kocain, Cave, Kızılseki, Döşemealtı, address, where, directions, locations, entrance, fee, working, visiting, days, hours
Kocain Cave,Kocain, Cave, Kızılseki, Döşemealtı, address, where, directions, locations, entrance, fee, working, visiting, days, hours
Kocain Cave,Kocain, Cave, Kızılseki, Döşemealtı, address, where, directions, locations, entrance, fee, working, visiting, days, hours
Kocain Cave,Kocain, Cave, Kızılseki, Döşemealtı, address, where, directions, locations, entrance, fee, working, visiting, days, hours

Kocain Cave 2024 Visiting Hours : 

Open everyday

Kocain Cave 2024 Working Days : 

Everyday

Kocain Cave 2024 Entrance Fee : 

Free

Last Update : 2024-06-15

The cave is on the 45th km. from north of Antalya at Indag Mountain. It is possible to reach Kocain Cave by Karatas - Camiliköy - Ahirtas Village road which is branched from Burdur-Antalya highway at least 20 km away from Antalya city.

The cave contains the widest entrance and one section largest gallery of Türkiye. There are 50-60 m. high pillars and a cistern from the Roman period inside the cavern. The cave was formed from two extremely large saloons and the entrance is 35x70 meters wide.

The cave is situated in Killik location of Ahırtaş village at Döşemealtı district of Antalya Province. It was discovered in 1919, and was surveyed by scientists from Ankara University several times after 1946. First exploration in terms of speleology was carried out in cooperation with French speleologists in 1972. The cave is 633 m (2,077 ft) long and has two large chambers on the main gallery, which has a clearance of 80 m (260 ft) at some places. The cave entrance is about 75 m (246 ft) wide and 20 m (66 ft) high. The cave features monumental stalactites and stalagmites. It is assumed that the cave was used for religious purposes during the early Christianity due to existence of readable inscriptions. Above data is taken from the cave's information board visible at external link.

The cave was registered a natural monument on August 16, 2013. It covers an area of 60.806 ha (150.25 acres).